Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
My rock life
6 décembre 2010

Lynyrd skynyrd

I don't really know why I've decided to start with this band. The thing is I'm trying to learn at the same time and dunno maybe cause am watching "Into the wild" at the same time and the first band that came to my mind "ironically" is Lynyrd Skynyrd even if the whole soundtrack is from eddie vedder. So yea, dunt really know why but let's start this:

Besides baseball Jackson ville people liked music and in this town, in 1964, 3 teenage friends decided to form a band those were the first members of "The Noble Five" which will become after the famous "Lynyrd Skynyrd". Those 3 friends were nothing but: Ronnie Van Zant, Allen Collins, and Gary Rossington. Various members joined the group after such as Burns and Junstorm. I've read a book lately which was about them and all I can say about my opinion of the band is that to me they are southern guys proud of their origins and we can really feel that in their songs. Their influences were mainly Eric Clapton, The Beatles, Free, The Yardbirds, The Rolling Stones.. as Gary explains about some his childhood memories related to music: "We'd listen to the Yardbirds and Clapton, you know and Jeff Beck, the Beatles and the Stones, the Animals, all those groups. They were our idols and gods at the time. As a matter of fact, that's when I really did think the Beatles were like gods. I had this thing when Iwas going to school. I'd listen to the radio - couldn't afford a record player then - I had a little radio then. If they ever came on,I would never turn them off and if I was late for school, had to miss scholl or miss church and get my butt beat by my momma because I'd miss a chore. It was like against my religion to turn them off."

What I really like about music is when you feel the honesty of the band who's playing the song, few voices in the rock and roll history can deeply touch you when you hear them. Van Zant is one of them, not the top of my list but yea try to listen to songs such as Tuesday's gone and Simple man and you'll maybe understand what I'm talking about.

Anyway I'll let you with a video of a lynyrd skynyrd song (am half pissed at myself coz it's a crime to not watch "into the wild" from the beginning to the end)

Publicité
Publicité
Commentaires
My rock life
Publicité
Publicité